Latest News

VisMin expels Siquijor Mystics, suspends select Lapu-Lapu players

Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup has expelled the entire Siquijor Mystics team after it concluded that they threw their game against the ARQ Builders-Lapu Lapu City last Wednesday.

In a video statement by league Chief Operations Officer Rocky Chan, he announced that the Mystics will no longer be part of the league.

The league has expelled Joshua Alcober, Ryan Buenafe, Vincent Tangcay, Jan Penaflor, Gene Bellaza, Michael Calomot, Frederick Rodriguez, Jopet Quiro, Isagani Gooc, Miguel Castellano, Juan Aspiras, and Peter Buenafe.

Also kicked out of the league are head coach Joel Palapal and his staff.

With this, all the games played by Siquijor will be erased from the standings. The Mystics lost to KCS-Mandaue on opening day before defeating Dumaguete the next day.

The league also suspended players from ARQ-Lapu Lapu whom it deemed culprits in the case.

Rendell Senining — the wingman who attempted left- and right-handed free throws in one trip to the line — was suspended for the season plus slapped with a P15,000 fine.

Hercules Tangkay, Reed Juntilla, Monbert Arong, Dawn Ochea, and Ferdinand Lusdoc, along with head coach Francis Auquico, were suspended for the rest of the first round. The players were fined P15,000 each, while Auquico was handed a P30,000 bill.

Auquico’s staff did not escape punishment. His assistants Jerry Abuyabor, Alex Cainglet, John Carlo Nuyles, Hamilton Tundag, and Roger Justin Potpot were handed P20,000 tabs each.

Source: Tiebreaker Times

Leave a Reply