Latest News

AMIN Zamboanga Sibugay Warriors bags VisMin Mindanao Challenge crown

Jaybie Mantilla had another solid performance for the third straight game to help give AMIN – Zamboanga Sibugay Warriors the championship in the Chooks to Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup Mindanao Challenge in Pagadian City Gymnasium, Friday.

AMIN – Zamboanga Sibugay Warriors overpowered the BYB Kapatagan Buffalos in overtime, 89-80 to complete a two game sweep in the Finals.

The game was delayed by four hours due to power outage but both teams looked prepared and hungry for the game.

The Buffalos, who are trying to extend the series, were efficient from the let-go and controlled majority of the ball game. Garexx Puerto scored 20 points in the first half to give his team an eight point lead at halftime, 46-38.

But the Warriors started to make a run in the second half behind Mantilla, Jan Jamon and Shaq Imperial, who kept their team within striking distance. Down by 8 in the fourth quarter, AMIN Zamboanga Sibugay staged an 11-0 run to take the lead, 79-76 with 18 seconds left. Kapatagan answered back with a triple from Mark Daanoy to tie the game at 79-all. Zambo Sibugay had few more chances to snatch the win in regulations but Mantilla and Enrique Caunan failed to convert their shots, sending the game to overtime.

But it was all AMIN – Zamboanga Sibugay Warriors during the extension period. The Warriors limited the Buffalos to a single free throw conversion, while scoring 10 points to finally win the VisMin crown.

Mantilla registered 18 points, 11 rebounds, four steals, and three assists. He was hailed as the Finals MVP after averaging 18.5 points, 7.5 rebounds, 4.0 steals, and 2.5 assists in two matches.

Jamon led the scoring for the Warriors with 25 points and four steals.

KD Ariar had 21 points and four rebounds to lead BYB Kapatagan Buffalos, who sorely missed conference MVP Edrian Lao.

Lao and Cris Dumapig, together with Gayford Rodriguez, Richmond Bersabal and Michole Sorela were all thrown out of the match due to their involvement in a brawl during the second quarter.

Besides the championship trophy, AMIN – Zamboanga Sibugay Warriors also won P500,000 courtesy of Chooks-to-Go president Ronald Mascariñas.

Kapatagan, on the other side, received P100,000 also from Chooks-to-Go. Zamboanga Sibugay also donated P100,000 to the Buffalos as most of their players are from Cebu, a province heavily affected by typhoon Odette.

The scores:

AMIN – Zamboanga Sibugay Warriors 89 – Jamon 25, Mantilla 18, Sorela 12, Octobre 10, Imperial 9, Foronda 5, Acain 4, Caunan 2, Pasia 2, Lacastesantos 0, Dumapig 2, Bangcoyan 0.

BYB Kapatagan Buffalos 80 – Ariar 21, Puerto 20, Bonganciso 12, Kwong 7, Daanoy 5, Igot 4, Sollano 4, Delfinado 4, Manatad 3, Lao 0, Rodriguez 0.

Quarterscores: 19-24, 38-46, 64-67, 79-79, 89-80.

Leave a Reply